"Seven Years"

A program featuring Quartet No. 8 by Shostakovich (1960), Summer Music For Winds by Barber (1953), and Nonet by Martinu (1959). The Artists will present the works in historical context, with anecdotes and lecture demonstrations. This concert is a behind the scenes look at composition around the world during this intense period in modern history.

Launching its inaugural season in the fall of 2011, the Atlantic Chamber Ensemble is a dynamic group of young professional musicians based in Richmond, Virginia who are members of the Richmond Symphony and faculty members at institutions such as Virginia Commonwealth University, the College of William and Mary, and the University of Richmond. The ensemble is composed of 11 members, offerings of unique combinations for strings, winds, and piano. ACE members are:

Ann Choomack, flute
Fred Dole, double bass
Deb Fialek, horn
Martin Gordon, bassoon
Susanna Klein, violin
Jason McComb, cello
Ralph Skiano, clarinet
Kimberly Sparr, viola
Shawn Welk, oboe
Ross Monroe Winter, violin
Maria Yefimova, piano

The program will feature music for winds and strings. Tickets: $5; free with VCU ID.

All ( Open to the public )